Object


 
Deutsch

Magneton



Peter Donhauser
Cogwheel Music

ZahnräderTonewheel generators were in principle first used for an electrical musical instrument by Thaddeus Cahill in the USA in 1894. The generators he built looked more like power stations than a musical instrument, although the 200 ton instrument performed in public until 1918. In order to develop a useable instrument from the idea, the arrangement had to be reduced in size and improved. The next patent was obtained in France in 1926. 1 Wilhelm Lenk (assistant at the University of Vienna) was working on the same system, and the schematic diagram of his patent 2 already shows the twelve cogwheel shafts used in Stelzhammer’s final version. The decisive factor for a usable instrument was a constant turning speed, a need satisfied by Lenk by inventing a motor control regulated by means of a “frequency standard.” 3

The Vienna piano company Stelzhammer, which, like many German manufacturers, was looking for new products during the recession, gave Lenk the opportunity to put his ideas into practice. In 1930, four years before Hammond, production was started on a number of demonstration models, of which only one has survived. A number of improvements were still necessary before it could be used in practice, such as the addition of a tremolo 4 and timbre switches 5.

Magneton BeschreibungIn its 14 August 1930 issue, the Neue Freie Presse wrote: “In a Vienna laboratory, a combination of research and traditional Viennese craftsmanship has created an instrument that deserves particular attention. […] The composer is pleasantly surprised by that turning an adjustment button automatically transposes the music. […] However, it is precisely this system that makes the path of experimental research easier and most promising.”

The trade press was of the opinion that the instrument was excellently suited for practicing purposes. 6 In the Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau, Vinzenz Goller7
wrote: “The slavish imitation of the sound of an organ and its characteristic rigidity was deliberately avoided, thereby giving the tone character of the instrument a number of special characteristics. […] What I like particularly in the magneton, 8 although I grew up with the pipe organ and have been inseparably associated with it for 50 years, is the fact that this new instrument is not an enemy of the historic organ.”9 Goller’s positive view of the magneton derived from the “popular liturgy movement” that regarded the organ on the west gallery as a major obstacle to active participation on the part of the congregation. Since, however, a church could hardly afford a second instrument as organ for the choir, Goller saw the magneton as the long-sought for solution to the problem.

A performance as part of an event entitled “New liturgical music on a modern instrument” in the Vienna Urania on 4 December 1934 was intended to demonstrate the suitability of the instrument. Alongside the organist Marya Hofer, the famous singers Erika Rokyta and Jella Braun-Fernwald had been signed up to perform, together with the pianist and musicologist Peter Stadlen and Ferdinand Scheminzky, the author of the well-known book Die Welt des Schalles.10 However, apart from this “promising beginning,”11 nothing more was ever reported on this instrument.

Footnotes:


1 Armand Zouckermann, patent GB 271259 dated 26. 5. 1927.

2 Patent AT 128615 dated 29. 3. 1930.

3 Patent AT 135415 dated 26. 8. 1931.

4 Patent AT 129556.

5 Patent AT 131755.

6 Fritz Noack, Fortschritte der mechanischen Musikerzeugung, in: Musikblätter des Anbruch, 12th Vol., 1930, p. 253ff.

7 A conservative Catholic church musician, composer and most important representative of the St Cecilian movement in Austria.


8 Contrary to the spelling “Magnetton” used on one advertising brochure, the more common spelling is with one ‘t’.

9 Vinzenz Goller, Das Magneton, in: Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau, Vol. 54, 1933/34, p. 103.

10 According to information kindly provided by Christian Stifter of the Österreichisches Volkshochschularchiv.

11 Das Magneton, in: Musikblätter des Anbruch, 16th Vol., 1934, p. 202.

 
Index

Object


 
English

Magneton



Peter Donhauser
Zahnradmusik

cogwheelsZahnscheibengeneratoren wurden im Prinzip erstmals in den USA von Thaddeus Cahill ab 1894 für ein elektrisches Musikinstrument verwendet. Die damit gebauten Generatoren hatten mehr Ähnlichkeit mit einem Kraftwerk als mit einem Musikinstrument – das 200 Tonnen schwere Instrument wurde bis 1918 öffentlich vorgeführt. Um ein praktikables Instrument aus der Idee zu entwickeln, musste die Anordnung laufend verkleinert und verbessert werden. Das nächste Patent findet sich 1926 in Frankreich.1 Wilhelm Lenk (Assistent an der Universität Wien) arbeitete am selben System. Sein Patent2 zeigt als schematische Abbildung bereits die zwölf Zahnscheiben-Wellen der endgültigen Ausführung Stelzhammers. Entscheidend für die Brauchbarkeit des Instruments war die Konstanz der Umdrehungszahlen. Lenk erfand zu dem Zweck eine über ein „Frequenznormal“ geregelte Motorsteuerung. 3

Die Wiener Klavierbaufirma Stelzhammer, die sich (wie viele deutsche Hersteller auch) in Zeiten der Rezession nach neuen Produkten umsah, ermöglichte Lenk die Umsetzung seiner Ideen. Ab 1930 (vier Jahre vor Hammond) wurden einige vorführbereite Exemplare des Instruments hergestellt, von denen sich nur eines erhalten hat. Für eine praktische Nutzung waren noch einige Verbesserungen fällig, so z. B. die Möglichkeit eines Tremolos4 und Klangfarbenschaltungen5.

Magneton descriptionDie Neue Freie Presse schrieb in ihrer Ausgabe vom 14. August 1930: „In einem Wiener Laboratorium ist in Verbindung von Forschergeist und Alt-Wiener Werkmannsarbeit ein Instrument entwickelt worden, welches besondere Beachtung verdient. […] Der Komponist wird dadurch angenehm überrascht sein, dass er durch eine kleine Drehung eines Einstellknopfes mühelos rein automatisch transponiert. […] Es ist aber gerade bei diesem System der Weg der experimentellen Forschung am leichtesten und aussichtsreichsten“.

Die Fachpresse meinte, das Instrument eigne sich hervorragend zu Übungszwecken. 6 Vinzenz Goller7 schrieb in der Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau: „Eine sklavische Nachbildung des Orgeltones mit seiner charakteristischen Starrheit wurde absichtlich vermieden und dadurch dem Toncharakter des Instruments eine Reihe besonderer Eigenheiten aufgedrückt. […] Was mir das Magneton8 besonders sympathisch macht, obwohl ich mit der Pfeifenorgel aufgewachsen und mit ihr seit 50 Jahren unzertrennlich verbunden bin, ist die Erkenntnis, dass dieses neue Instrument der historischen Orgel nicht feindlich gegenübertritt“.9 Gollers positive Einschätzung des Magnetons entsprang der „volksliturgischen Bewegung“, die die Orgel auf der Westempore als größtes Hindernis für die aktive Teilnahme der Gläubigen empfand. Da sich aber kaum eine Kirche ein zweites Instrument als Chororgel leisten konnte, empfand Goller das Magneton als die ersehnte Lösung des Problems.

Eine Aufführung im Rahmen der Veranstaltung „Neue liturgische Musik auf modernem Instrument“in der Wiener Urania am 4. Dezember 1934 sollte die Tauglichkeit des Instruments beweisen. Man hatte zusätzlich zur Organistin Marya Hofer die damals bekannten Sängerinnen Erika Rokyta und Jella Braun-Fernwald verpflichtet. Weiters wirkten noch der Pianist und Musikwissenschaftler Peter Stadlen und Ferdinand Scheminzky mit, der Autor des bekannten Buchs Die Welt des Schalles.10 Außer diesem „verheißungsvollen Anfang“11
ist jedoch nichts Weiteres von diesem Instrument zu berichten.

Fußnoten:


1 Armand Zouckermann, Patent GB 271259 vom 26. 5. 1927.

2 Patent AT 128615 vom 29. 3. 1930.

3 Patent AT 135415 vom 26. 8. 1931.

4 Patent AT 129556.

5 Patent AT 131755.

6 Fritz Noack, Fortschritte der mechanischen Musikerzeugung, in: Musikblätter des Anbruch, 12. Jg., 1930, S. 253ff.

7 Konservativer katholischer Kirchenmusiker, Komponist und wichtigster Vertreter des Cäcilianismus in Österreich.

8 Entgegen der in einer Werbebroschüre verwendeten Bezeichnung „Magnetton“ findet sich häufig die Schreibweise mit einem „t“.

9 Vinzenz Goller, Das Magneton, in: Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau, Jg. 54, 1933/34, S. 103.

10 Nach freundlicher Mitteilung von Christian Stifter, Österreichisches Volkshochschularchiv.

11 Das Magneton, in: Musikblätter des Anbruch, 16. Jg., 1934, S. 202.

 
Index